Venus – Joy Williams

Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 9.21.36 AM
Joy Williams’s breakthrough album Venus is a solo album with over 11 beautiful and honest songs. Since being a part of the four-time grammy winning, The Civil Wars duo with John Paul, Joy Williams has taken time for herself to heal and write for herself. I find this album soothing and moving.

Although I loved every one of her songs, Welcome Home (track 11) about had me in tears. I am a military wife and our family has been through it’s share of deployments and days apart. Everyone interprets music differently and that is the beauty of it! Music will make you want to dance or even make you emotional if the words touch you because you relate to them. You could say the song, Welcome Home did the latter to me. It was an absolutely beautiful song that reminds me of how I feel when my husband comes back from a long deployment or training.

I also really identify with Not Good Enough (track 5). Ever had a day where you become so overwhelmed or that you try so hard at something, but never seem to be rewarded. This song perfectly explains putting so much effort into something and still it not being enough. Her vocals are perfectly complimented by the melody and music. This song is so beautiful and flows very smoothly. I absolutely love it!

I don’t want to give the whole album away by talking about all the songs (even though I love them all), you will just have to hear for yourself when the album is out on June 29th! I did want to share one more song just because I also love the music video, as shown below. Joy’s song Woman (Oh Mama) takes on a bit of a faster beat than her other songs, but also has a unique rhythm in the way vocals are sung. The video compliments the song so well and is well inspiring to women everywhere! It’s a feel good girl power song that I can jam out too! Seriously, get your copy of the album Venus today! It’s an amazing group of songs! http://bit.ly/VenusAlbumJoyWIlliams

I participated in the Joy WIlliams Venus album review program as a member of One2One Network. I was provided an album to review but all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

