Top Notch “30 in 30” Protein Shakes

Over the holidays I took about a week off from working out and didn’t worry about what I ate like I usually tend to. It was defiantly nice to be able to relax and let my body rest, as well as enjoy my family time over the break, but I am so ready to get back to eating healthy and working out on a regular basis.

With that being said I am going to  incorporate protein shakes back into my diet as an after workout recovery snack. I love how easy protein shakes are to make, because after a tough workout the last thing I want to do is prepare a meal. The added protein from the shake also helps me get more protein during the day easily without having to worry about eating protein rich foods such as meats.

I was sent a Top Notch “30 in 30” Protein Shakes Combo Pack bag to try out and review for free. There are 20 single serve packets in this combo pack (10 Chocolate Cake & 10 Vanilla Ice Cream) and sells for $32.97, which is about $1.60 for each single serve packet. I find these single serve packs so convenient! They are great to have in your gym bag for a post workout snack without having to worry about a mess. The 30 in 30 refers to the 30 grams of pure whey protein isolate being most effective when you consume it within 30 minutes of waking up or working out. I like that these protein packets not only have the 30 grams of pure whey protein isolate, but only have 4 other ingredients (including only 1 g of sugar). I am very impressed with how easily this protein powder dissolves into water and that it is gluten free. Some protein powders I have tried in the past leave clumps when trying to mix them with water or milk.

Unfortunately though, the taste was a bit of a disappointment. I tried both the Chocolate Cake flavor and the Vanilla Ice Cream and they were both too sweet! I did water it down quite a bit and the taste wasn’t as bad. I wouldn’t mind drinking this protein after my workouts, because of the protein content amount and simple ingredients, but it isn’t my favorite tasting protein powder. I would give this protein 3 stars out of 5, because the taste is too sweet, but because (on a positive note) the powder has 30 grams of protein, is packed in single servings, and easily dissolves.

 

Leave a Reply

